"Getting Back in the Groove" Or "I's Married Now!"

My husband and I directly after the ceremony

I was married on September 4, 2010. It was a beautiful ceremony and reception. I had a wonderful time and I am so in love with my husband.

One of the things I think was the most difficult to do – as a bride – was letting go. As we got closer and closer to the wedding I was unable to let go. I wanted everything to work out the way I saw it in my head…and life doesn’t work that way. About 30 days from the wedding life starting to crash about me. Murphy’s Law took full effect in my life – there was no way I could get everything done as it needed to be done. Due to this, I had an extra hard time letting go. I am sorry that this blog (among other things) was pushed to the side while I was trying to get my life together.

If I had had let go sooner…I could have gotten my hair done sooner. This is a picture of me and my cousin Marlina at Kinko’s. Me, my cousin, my sister-in-law, and my fiancé were all at Kinko’s until 3:30 am – two days before the wedding. Or is that one day?

Marlina and Me

Do you see my hair??! It’s a hot mess. I hadn’t done anything to it but wash it for at least two weeks. My hair was everywhere and there was no time for anything.

I ended up washing my hair on Friday morning (yeah, that’s the day before the wedding) AFTER 9am. I was washed out and exhausted. After the wash I started my maintenance. Trust me when I tell you that it’s not a good idea to do your own hair before a wedding… I advocate going to a stylist! It’s worth the cost. Thank God that my friend Glenda (Sincerely Yours Salon) was on her way. Glenda and my Matron of Honor, Dana, showed up while my hair was still only half done. They came in, took over, and forced me to start letting things go.

This is a really bad picture of me at the rehearsal dinner. Glenda had taken my hair (which was still wet and setting) and pulled it back in some way that was very elegant.

And this is me the day of the wedding. Thank you, Glenda! You are a God-send.

www.jennytenney.com

Sincerely Yours Salon, NC

There were several things that went GREAT and several things that went bad. What I can tell you is that my honeymoon was so great that I wish I’d had the wedding there.

Couples Swept Away - Jamaica

For all those still working, HAVE A DESTINATION WEDDING!! You’ll thank me for that later.

Leave a Reply

