All Natural Sugar Body Scrubs

I like to try to give myself a body scrub every other day. I began making my own scrubs a while ago in order to control costs (the most simple scrubs costs between $10 and $30 each) and ingredients. When you look at the stuff they put in commercially sold body scrubs…well, This made me look into mixing my own scrubs. I can control the ingredients, all of my ingredients are fresh, and I am 100% sure of the shelf life.

I used to use Carol’s Daughter exclusively for my scrubs and body oils (I still love her body oils), but I noticed that as Carol’s Daughter grew into a large company the ingredients didn’t seem to be as fresh and the shelf life seemed to shrink. I would buy two body scrubs at a time and one would always lose its scent before I completed both containers.

I decided to use sugar rather than salt for two reasons:
• No matter what you do, a little bit of the scrub always gets in your mouth
• If I happen to shave and scrub on the same day, the salt burns

Both of those things were enough to steer me towards sugar rather than salt.

I have three scrubs in rotation, and they are all pretty simple. All of the scrubs I make have a decent shelf life, too – I need them to last at least 10 days. Most of the things I use in my scrubs are things that normally can be found in the (at least my) kitchen, with only a few extra purchases needed to be complete. I try to make all three at the beginning of the week and I keep them refrigerated until the night before use. The night before I plan to use the scrub I take it out of the refrigerator and let it warm up overnight. If you don’t do this, the scrub will be cold, clammy, and the oil will be congealed.

Lavender Lemon Sugar Scrub
This is the most simple of all of my scrubs. I usually get at least two body applications.

Ingredients:
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup olive oil
5 drops lemon essential oil
8 drops lavender essential oil

Lavender Lemon Sugar Body Scrub Ingredients

Steps:
Combine the sugar and oil in a container and mix until a pasty consistency forms. Add your oils and stir.

To use, just massage on to wet skin to exfoliate your skin. Rinse and pat dry.

Lavender Lemon Sugar Scrub

Lemon, Lavender, and Honey Scrub

Ingredients:
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup sweet almond oil
2 teaspoons lemon juice
2 tablespoons honey – room temperature
5 drops lemon essential oil
6 drops lavender essential oil

Lavender, Lemon, and Honey Sugar Body Scrub Ingredients

Steps:
Combine the sugar and sweet almond oil in a large bowl and stir well to combine. Then add the lemon juice and honey and stir again. Finally, add the lavender and lemon essential oils and stir to mix.

To use, just massage on to wet skin to exfoliate your skin. Rinse and pat dry.

This mixture is really oily so you be careful that you don’t slip!

Lemon, Lavender, and Honey Scrub

Chocolate-Ginger Body Scrub
I got this scrub from a friend of mine. It’s the most luxurious in my opinion – and smells the absolute best! I always feel like I’m scrubbing down with chocolate.

Ingredients:
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon freshly grated ginger
1 teaspoon cocoa powder
3-5 tablespoon olive oil (or other oil on hand)

Chocolate-Ginger Sugar Scrub Ingredients & materials

Steps:
Measure all of the ingredients into a bowl. Mix well to combine completely.

To use, just massage on to wet skin to exfoliate your skin. Rinse and pat dry.

Chocolate-Ginger Body Scrub

Leave a Reply

