All Natural Olive Hot Oil Treatments

In keeping with my October is for Olive Oil theme, let’s talk about hot oil treatments. Olive oil makes a great oil for a hot oil treatment.

One of my regular uses for olive oil is as a hot oil treatment. There are two ways to do a hot oil treatment – and I use both of them. I have a slightly different recipe for hot oil depending if I’m using it on wet or dry hair. If I plan to give my locks a deep condition, I do my hot oil treatment on dry hair. If I do not plan on deep conditioning my locks, I do my hot oil treatment on wet hair. You can give your locks a hot oil treatment weekly.

Wet Hair
I typically only use this treatment is I am NOT going to do a deep condition.

Hot Oil Treatment for wet hair
¼ cup olive oil
1 tsp dried rosemary (you can use fresh, too)
4 drops lavender essential oil
Cheesecloth

Combine the olive oil and rosemary in a small sauce pan on the stove. Heat until oil is boiling. Stir. Add lavender essential oil. Stir. Remove from heat and strain through cheesecloth to remove rosemary pieces. Allow oil to cool to the touch. Rub (not pour!) onto wet, freshly washed hair. Make sure hair is dry enough not to drip. Wrap hair in plastic shower cap or other plastic bag and sit under a hood dryer for 30 minutes. If you do not have a hood dryer, try wetting a towel with hot water and wrapping it around your hair (keeping the bag on). You will have to re-heat the towel with water several times.

Dry Hair
I use this treatment when I plan to give my hair a deep condition.

Hot Oil Treatment for dry hair
¼ cup olive oil
1 tsp dried rosemary (you can use fresh, too)
1 tbsp honey
6 drops lavender essential oil
Cheesecloth

Combine the olive oil, honey, and rosemary in a small sauce pan on the stove. Heat until oil is boiling, remember: the honey will not disappear into the oil. Stir. Add lavender essential oil. Stir. Remove from heat and strain through cheesecloth to remove rosemary pieces. The cheesecloth will hold the honey for a period of time but you do NOT want to strain out the honey, just the rosemary. Allow oil to cool to the touch. Rub (not pour!) onto dry hair. If your dreadlocks are short enough, wrap a wet towel around the hair and sit under a hood dryer for 30 minutes. If your hair is too long for that, wrap hair in plastic shower cap or other plastic bag that has been sprinkled with water inside the cap/bag. If you do not have a hood dryer, wet the towel with hot water, re-heating the towel with water several times.

Once you have completed your hot oil treatment, wash/co-wash hair as normal.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

